Innovative Marine Aquariums

xenia problems

UncleChr1s

hey guys i'm relatively new to reef keeping  and i currently have a 10 gallon nano tank with

2 ocellaris clowns,

5 blue legged hermits

1 fighting conch

i recently added some coral frags yesterday (pulsing xenia, green star polyps, and a blue mushroom)

none have opened yet and its been around 14 hours, and i woke up to see the heads of the xenia  have been eaten off, i think it was the hermit crabs

my question is, will the xenia recover, or is it a goner? is there anything i could do?, thanks in advance

How are your water parameters testing out?  What type of lighting are you providing them?  All of those are very easy to keep corals and should've opened back up in no time provided there isn't an issue with your water or lighting.

Some advice:

Green Star Polyps - like flow...they need a constant current going over them.  

Mushrooms - don't like flow or a lot of light...put them somewhere shady with not a lot of flow.

Xenia - usually do fairly well almost anywhere.  I keep mine more towards the top of my tank with a medium amount of flow going over them.

Blue Leg Hermits - Are the devil.  My advice...get rid of them now before you lose even more things.  As they get bigger they will eat more things.  I used to keep them and every single time I've added them to a tank, I've come to regret it.  These days...no hermits...only snails and now I have no problems with things getting eaten.

thanks so much for the reply, 

ammonia is currently at 0

nitrates 20ppm

nitrites 0.5 ppm

ph 7.5

at the moments i have a cheap led light but i have a new stronger full spectrum led light coming on saturday

im shocked because everywhere ive read people have said blue hermits where okay

I have some blue legs and they never bother my corals. I do feed my fish every day and the tank is old enough that the hermits can graze. Some people try feeding the hermits some sinking pellets a couple times a week.