Pod Your Reef

Are the UV bulbs in LED lights bad for our health?

Abzdot

51 minutes ago, Beginnerreeftanker said:

I wouldn’t think so... I’m no expert but there are UV sterilizer in tanks that no one worries about....

well UV sterilisers are encased

UV sterilizers are enclosed, lights are not.

It is a good idea to size a light correctly so that light spill doesn't get out of hand. You should avoid looking directly into any UV light source

I read an article a while back so and they said they did a study that blue light could cause macular degeneration.  It was just 1 study so there wasn't a ton of information about it.  So just to be on the safe side I put a canopy around my lights so my kids don't look up at it and get blinded by the lights in general. 

Are they really UV LEDs? A lot of lights call it UV but it's actually not true UV at all.

The old HD one isn't true UV so guessing this one isn't either.

• 2 weeks later...

I believe its anything sub 395ish is when it starts to become bad ? I'm probably wrong. But I think like 365nm is when it can really start deteriorating skin cells. I'm probably way off but that is a place to start a quick google search. 

Snow_Phoenix
15 minutes ago, Tamberav said:

I double checked and the LEDs are not true UV. They just have that name (for funzies) but are above the UV spectrum. 

I've always been worried about this. I literally have two lights over my tank in my bedroom, and the tank is less than six feet away from my foot if I were to lie down in bed. The spillover from the AI Prime is a lot compared to my R60, and at one time, I thought my headaches were attributed to the lighting. I still make it a point not to tilt my head up from my pillow and look up to avoid accidently staring at either light when I wake up in the morning. Just in case. 😕 

9 minutes ago, Snow_Phoenix said: