Innovative Marine Aquariums

First foray into saltwater (Biocube 32)

bradk

Hello all,

I posted in the welcome forum but figured I'd maybe start my own thread here as well.

I've had tanks in the past, but they've always been tropical, so this is my first attempt at saltwater after doing some due diligence. I settled on the Biocube 32 along with the stand, which I got a slight discount on. Right now it's sitting in my bathtub filled with water to make sure there's no leaking.

About to head to my LFS to look into pre-mixed seawater because I don't feel comfortable with tackling that on my own right off the bat. The initial plan (within next couple of days) is to acquire live rock and live substrate (aragonite was recommended to me due to the weight). I'll be buying the live rock out of live tanks, so hopefully all hitchhikers are good ones.

at some point I'll have to look into a heater and wave maker? and possibly other things. My thermostat is set to 74 24/27, but also I live in the desert so when it gets to be 115 outside, it's about 78 inside (which I guess is closer to the ideal than 74). also I'm committing myself to the intank media basket for reasons I'm not all that sure on, but it seems to be the way to go.

The plan is then for clownfish and hopefully some coral, and/or anemone. 

Went to a couple of LFS, got the seawater for $1/gallon and filled her up. also got the caribsea hawaiian black live aragonite and some caribea life rock shelves that I pieced together and expoxied. very happy with how it turned out, it's basically a ring that also has a lot of holes to swim through. it's a little deeper than it probably should be, but it fits and there's some space around it.  I'm scrapping the live rock for now. LFS also sold some bacteria and dr. tim's live nitrifying bacteria. LFS advised to bring water to them in a week for testing. 

Ec2lonGUYAUn0zG.jpg