Coral Vue Hydros

Clownfish stays near AIO overflow

SWTanker

Hello everyone,

Complete noob to the saltwater world here. Have had a few FW tanks in the past but always wanted a SW and was gifted a Fluval Evo 13.5.

I have been stoked getting it set up. I went from stock filtration to the intank media basket in chamber 1 with filter floss, chemipure, purigen and then some seachem matrix and the second chamber is full of marine pure balls. 

I cycled the tank for a while with mostly dry rock and live sand with some stability. I got a small chunk of liverock from my LFS to contribute some ammonia. 

Finished the cycle over fiveish weeks (tested the water every other day), added a single ocellaris and a wheeler goby (cause it was in the plan but I hadn’t ever seen one at my LFS so I jumped on it) it’s been a week, the Wheeler goby stays in his cave most of the time but comes out to eat and is at least visible. But my ocy sits by the overflow of the tank and rarely ventures out. He’s tiny probably not even an inch. Is this a habit he will grow out of as he gets more comfortable? Did I do him a disservice by getting him alone instead of as a pair? Would adding a mate help him become more comfortable? I’d want to wait for a while to add much else to allow the bacteria to continue to beef up. But right now the tank just looks empty with a goby that hides and a clownfish that stays way up in the top corner. Ha 

Also I didn’t realize that I posted this in aquarium journals and have no idea how to delete it. My bad. Reposted in general discussion.