Innovative Marine Aquariums

Aiptasia anemone? Maybe?

Beginnerreeftanker

Beginnerreeftanker

Hey there, I am a beginner in the world of roof tanks.  Just recently I was looking at my tank, and saw what appeared to be in anemone.  After some further research, I came to the conclusion that it was an Aiptasia Anemone, and that I should try to exterminate it as soon as I can.  I am sorry for the bad photos, but that is all I can get at the moment.  It is a grayish purplish color and only maybe 2 to 3 millimeters long.  I really like all my hitchhikers, and just wanted to make sure that this was a bad one before I kill it. Does anybody know what exactly this is?

Hard to say for sure from those pictures (could ID with better shots), but looks like aiptasia to me. I would get rid of it to be on the safe side.

Beginnerreeftanker

Ok thankyou.  I probably will to be on the safe side.  I just don’t want to be killing a harmless creature on accident instead.  But it does look like an Aiptasia, so better safe than sorry.  

• Like 1

There are at least 16 species of aiptasia and I'd bet that's one of them; it's harder to ID specifically when they are smaller and less mature.

Some can regrow from practically a single cell remaining on the substrate, so it's worth shutting down an infestation early. Plus, it's more likely that this tiny polyp is a pest like an aiptasia or majano rather than something beneficial you'd want in your tank.

17 minutes ago, Beginnerreeftanker said:

Ok yes then I’ll probably put lemon juice or something into its disk then to kill it.