Cultivated Reef

Acceptable Parameter Swings?

reeferehab

reeferehab

Hey all,

I just finished the cycle of my first EVER reef tank which is an innovative marine nuvo fusion 10 pro. (10gallons)  I cycled with dry marco rocks, caribsea live sand, and am using the ESV salt mix where you separately mix the 4 different components. 

Planning on getting a small clean up crew and my first fish (clownfish) in a few days and my parameters seem to be spot on for now using the Salifert Test Kits. 

pH -8.0

salinity - 1.026 or 35ppm

temp - 79 F

Ammonia - 0

Nitrite - 0

Nitrate - 20ppm (is this too high? Planning on adding some softies and lps coral in a week or two)

Calcium - 430ppm

Alk - 8.0 dKH

Mag - 1320

Now as a newbie, I am aware that nano reefs are harder to maintain stable parameters especially when corals are introduced. I’m planning on keeping zoas, a couple euphyllias, and some lps, but mostly a mix of softies and lps. Maybe an anemone for the clownfish once my tank is fully established. 

with this in mind... I was wondering how big of a swing in these parameters is acceptable when keeping a reef tank? Dosing is out of the question, as I do not want to purchase more equipment until I absolutely need it (for example if I start keeping more LPS or SPS). I tend to have a busy schedule and would prefer not to be testing each batch of newly mixed saltwater before my water change then testing again. It seems a bit excessive testing each week... yet again, I am a newbie and it appears that every other forum I read or video i watch has a million different answers. What are your thoughts on this?

I would do a 50% water change to cut your nitrates in half.  Most folks do a water change after the cycle is complete.

I think you'll be ok replenishing your calc/alk, etc by just doing a water change every couple of weeks.  Would also recommend testing when you do your water changes.