SaltCritters.com

Newbie plumbing help

Singh

Hi my name is dee and I'm new to the saltwater water world and have been doing some reading to gain the info, never owned a fish tank salt or fresh, and I have planned a 10.5 gallon rimless aquarium with a canister filter, I want to hide the plumbing, I want to drill holes out of the rock and plumb my 1 drain and 1 return through rock, my question is does it matter how high or low I go on positioning the drain or return in the tank because it is a closed system with the canister filter and I can go as high or low with the water level as i like right?  And how should I position the return or drain so it is most efficient, meaning keep drain far left and return far right etc., and what size pvc plumbing I should stick with, the rest of how I can take it easily apart for maintenance is something I will figure out as i build, if you have any suggestions let me know

Tank measurements 

L 18in

W 15in

H 12in

Fluval 107 canister filter

Let me know your input, thanks

I basically want to know what is the best way to plumb the tank for what I want to achieve for this small tank, and if the height of the pipe I plumb from bottom matter in a closed system, like in a sump system my drain would have to be as high as I want the water lever to be, I want to know if I'm running a canister and my drain is 5 inches submerged in water that it shouldn't matter right?

Oh I see. Yes if you're using a canister filter then it doesn't matter where you put the intake and return. In general, it's best to have them on opposite sides of the tank for better circulation. 

Although keep in mind a canister filter is not usually recommended for saltwater tanks. But you can make it work as long as you keep up on regular maintenance!