Top Shelf Aquatics

Nano algae/filtration help

tshutler

Hello all,

I have been reefing for a few years now but am newer in the nano tanks. Ive had my 10 gallon AIO tank up and running for about a year and am encountering some issues. I have brown algae in the snad and pink algae on the rocks. pretty sure its bacterial like cyano but its not super thick. I recently stripped the nitrates and phosphates from my tank on accident with too much chemipure. I have been working to raise nitrates and phosphates to normal levels. Currently my nitrates read out around .1-.2 ppm. Which I undertsand is low. the phosphates are unreadable. I have been trying to raise these values to help with the bacterial colonies and have been lightly dosing brightwell's neophos and neo nitro per the instructions. The only filtration i have is a nano skimmer and carbon along with the filter sock. should I stop the skimmer? any recomendations?

IMG_4807.JPG

IMG_4808.JPG

IMG_4809.JPG

I would get as much out as you can with a turkey baster and also reduce lighting period. Some people go lights out for a few days in a row but I was successful with Repeated water changes and manual removal over the course of a few weeks when I had it. Also increase the flow 

now pretty much gone For me and hopefully you have similar success.  There is also always chemiclean which many years ago I also used successfully so you do have some options. 

I would stop the skimmer, remove carbon and filter socks...or dry skim only to maintain oxygenation.  Try to let the tank restabilize/balance out through normal feeding.  I don't even know that I would do water changes at this point because you don't have a high nutrient issue, just an imbalance and have tipped the scales in favor of whatever bacteria that is.  See if you can get your nitrates up to 10 ppm or so and your phosphates to .03 -.1.  

Are you certain its cyano? Is it slimy, can it be sucked out with a Turkey baster?