Premium Aquatics Aquarium Supplies

Dr Tim's not working ?

Aayyee

So I am new to this hobby .. I watched mr saltwaters cycle a tank video and I have a 10 gallon tank I have dry rock and dry sand... I put a clown fish in and shook up doctor Tim's one and only I got it froma local saltwater store .. i shook it up and poured about a quarter of the bottle in .. it was a bottle that was good for 120 gallons ... that is why i put a quarter.. 

I checked the parameters today at noon . My ammoina was at about 1.5ppm and nitrite was about .25ppm it was there just barely.. salinity is 1.025

Temp is steady at 78

Ph is 8.4

I can't figure out what I did wrong please help 

2 hours ago, Aayyee said:

So I am new to this hobby .. I watched mr saltwaters cycle a tank video and I have a 10 gallon tank I have dry rock and dry sand... I put a clown fish in and shook up doctor Tim's one and only I got it froma local saltwater store .. i shook it up and poured about a quarter of the bottle in .. it was a bottle that was good for 120 gallons ... that is why i put a quarter.. 

I checked the parameters today at noon . My ammoina was at about 1.5ppm and nitrite was about .25ppm it was there just barely.. salinity is 1.025

Temp is steady at 78

Ph is 8.4

What's wrong?

Your numbers are pretty normal for cycling.

Why is there a fish in the tank? It shouldn't be in there until after the cycle is finished.

• Like 1
3 hours ago, Aayyee said:

Temp is steady at 78

Ph is 8.4

These bottles make some big claims eh?

image.png.984e1685ea387534c1a72645b5798afe.png

As you can see... that claim is hit or miss. They will help speed up the process but they are not magic. 

I never cycle a tank with fish in it because of this. 

You will want to do water changes to keep ammonia low or return the fish. Clowns are hardy but the ammonia burns their gills.

• Like 5
5 hours ago, Aayyee said:

Temp is steady at 78

Ph is 8.4