Innovative Marine Aquariums

Will the Orbit grow macros (and one other Q)

cosmicbread

I'm just beginning a planted marine 12g long. It receives a bunch of natural light (intentional) but I think it will need supplementation. It has/will have shoal grass and different varieties of macros, and some softies down the line.

- Will a Current USA Orbit Marine light grow Macroalgae in a 12 gallon?

- Due to my setup, I'm also starting to think that I should do clip-on lights or a gooseneck fixture, or two, instead. Should I do a 6500k daylight LED (or other sort of bulb?) alongside another lamp with something more geared for coral? Would that work with my plans for this tank? Thanks in advance!

• Like 1

If you're trying to do grass and coral in the same 12 gallon, that sounds like a lot to me. I would consider focusing on one or the other.  IMO the Current light should be fine on that tank.

Consider getting the freshwater version tho if your focus ends up being the green plants and a shallow water habitat.

Stick with the marine version if you end up going with corals.

Do you have any books, articles or example tanks that you are using for information?  (links?)

• Like 3

Thank you so much for your response, mcarroll 🙂

The following have been major points of inspiration, although I realize that they are all run by amazing reefers eons of lightyears more experienced than I (and in some cases, with super fancy lights a bit out of my budget).

I wouldn't mind focusing on the plants, but if I could successfully keep a hardy soft coral, sponges, and/or even gorgonians down the line -- well, that would be a goal.

Brad's "natural reef" 

GR's 12L

Metrokat's display refuguim: 

https://reefbuilders.com/2013/01/08/macroalgae-display/

EC's Waterbox (and their other 150 as well)

https://www.reef2reef.com/threads/waterbox-130-4-macroalgae-display.517365/

Halophila's seagrass/softie tank:

https://reefbuilders.com/2012/08/06/seagrass-aquarium/