Premium Aquatics Aquarium Supplies

how should I run my all in one

Pennstate Reefer

Pennstate Reefer

I am new to all on one tanks.   I have a bio cube 32 led with up graded Steve’s led.  I run the biocube skimmer new version, intank media basket with floss, purigon and chem blue in that order from top to bottom.  Stock return pump.  Don’t really care for the skimmer cause I can’t get rid of micro bubbles.  Skimmer is junk in my opinion. I have been reading a lot on here about all in ones.  I work on the road and only can tend to the tank on weekends.  It’s actually the wife’s tank for her home office.  So my question is I would like recommendations on how to set up the back so I don’t have issues stripping all the nutrients out of the water and I would love to get rid of the skimmer if I don’t need it.  I do run the stock top cause the wife likes the clean look.  And has anyone else had an issue with instant ocean salt purple lid being in consistent.  Every time I do a 10% water change it seems to drive cal alk and mag all down instead of replenishing. 

GetPsyched2124

the instant ocean purple lid salt is meant for fish only/non coral systems. those levels are lower in that salt mix. Even more so if you're mixing it at a salinity level that the directions give (which i believe is 1.022). That's probably why your cal, alk, and mag are low. if you stick with instant ocean, you'll need the instant ocean reef crystals, (orange top). that will replenish those levels.

There are so many ways to do a nano/pico, which can start to get confusing, even contradictory. Lol.

I have struggled keeping nutrients in my nano's so I slowly reduced the amount of media use.

I run a little bit of carbon, a small amount if purigen, and floss. 

I am slowly removing purigen from 1 tank because my nitrates drop when i use it and I feed that tank heavily.

I only use phosphate reducers when needed and small amounts with frequent monitoring of nutrients.