Pod Your Reef

Setting up new Nano-reef/clownfish breeding system

PaysonReef

PaysonReef

Hello all,

I am new to the Nano-reef world and breeding clownfish and am looking for some help and advice.  I would appreciate any help and advice or opinions that anyone might have.

I have had a couple successful larger saltwater aquariums in the past (75 and 90 gallon) and loved the hobby but, because of time constraints, left it a couple years ago and went back to community freshwater, then African Cichlids.  While I love those fish as well, I am ready to get back into the saltwater world and would like to learn a lot about, and keep a Nano-reef tank with the goal of breeding clownfish also in mind.

I have several questions and am hoping I might be able to get some advice on this.  Please bear in mind that my tank is not set up yet so is not cycled or anything.  In fact, I have not even purchased a tank yet, so my ideas are all in the planning stage right now and I will definitely take the time to do my research and do this right.

I am thinking of setting up a small tank, around 10 gallons for these fish.  As this is so small, I will manage it by frequent water changes so will not have a sump.  As far as livestock, I am thinking of only having two clownfish, a cleanup crew of blue-legged hermit crabs and snails, coral, and possibly an anemone.  I was also thinking of adding some type of shrimp possibly but that would be the extent of the livestock in there.  I would, of course, have approximately 2 inches of live sand and 10-20 pound of live rock.  The live rock and live sand will actually be added dry and I will add a handful of live sand and one piece of live rock to make the dry rock live, knowing this will take time to do.

Here is where my questions now come in.

First, a few questions on the livestock:

1.  Is a 10 gallon aquarium large enough?