Innovative Marine Aquariums

Popek's EVO 13.5 Reef

popek

Hi Guys!

Opening a new thread that will serve as a nice little journal of my first ever saltwater tank.

Very excited to start in this wonderful hobby! I have some background in freshwater tanks, where I used to keep and breed Discus. Also, have some experience keeping stingrays.  Can't wait until I can set up another tank with them. Moved from Slovenia to Toronto, Canada and unfortunately, until I buy my own house I have to stick to a small and manageable tank. A great excuse to finally get some salt on my hands! 🙂

Have been reading a great amount on this forum and believe I finally learned enough to start a tank. No real experience yet but I am sure I will be able to draw on the vast experience of this superb community.

Yesterday I visited a coral shop and bought some equipment.

1. Fluval EVO 13.5 Tank

2. RO/DI Unit

3. 50W Cobalt Heater

4. 1.0 SICCE Syncra pump

5. Red sea salt

6. Refractometer

7 Caribsea sand and Dry rock

8. ammonia, No2 & No3 tests

9. filter floss and tunze nano glass cleaner

10. Startup bacteria

After the tank is done cycling I will be purchasing an  Aqua Illumination Prime HD, nano tunze ATO and inTankmedia basket for chamber one. And a powerhead if more flow is needed. ( the wallet can take a breather till then 😛 )

Not yet sure if I'll be buying a skimmer and making a refugium, will see how the tank fares with weakly wc.

Livestock will consist of 2 clownfish and some cleanup crew ( would welcome any recommendations for some interesting crabs and snails)

As for corals, i will start with the newbie friendly ones and progress with time and experience to more demanding ones.

As I understand I should be ditching the foam that came in with the tank and put some carbon and chemi pure in the chamber.

Until my ro water is ready for mixing im playing around with aquascaping.

IMG_20190419_183450.thumb.jpg.0cd15e475e07412a9b70947dcb381e25.jpg