Premium Aquatics Aquarium Supplies

New to Saltwater - Looking at setting up a Pico

Broadside

Greetings All

So I have been quietly planning my first SW tank for a couple of months now, I have extensive background in Freshwater and wanted to make the transition to a Saltwater Tank. 

I am looking for a second Pico for my Desktop at work, I currently have a Betta in a Fluval Spec 3, I am thinking that for symmetry I would pick up a second (done)  Spec 3 Tank to set up as Saltwater. 

I do not want a great deal in this tank, I like the planted look as well. Here are my initial thoughts

Yellow Clown Goby/ Yasha Goby

Trio Sexy Shrimp

Clean Up Crew

I am aware that I need to upgrade certain aspects of this tank, here is what I am thinking in terms of equipment

Tank: Fluval Spec 3

Heater: I have 25, 50 & 75 adjustable Nano heaters available. All fit in back compartment of the Spec 

Lights: Currently stock, I want to have Macro algae, Sexy Shrimp, Clown Goby small CUC. Do I need better lights?

Pump: I'm looking for a Mini Jet 404 or Pico Evo 400

Filtration: I am thinking two bags of Chemipure Blue in the existing media rack and Filter Floss on top to stop debris entering compartment (FW has this problem also) 

Now as I said I would like to have a Macroalgae Pico Tank, I have thought about it and would like some Cheato, another 2 Green Macro's and 1-2 Red Macro's. 

What are some good "starting" Macro's? Both Red and Green. I would like some movement in the tank as well if that makes any difference to the recommendations. 

• Like 1

welcome Broadside!  😄 

if you have the space, push up to the Fluval Evo 5, which is meant for reefing, not the Spec 3, as it's for fw. you'll still need to upgrade stuff, like getting the inTank media basket for it, but the rest will work at first and won't need immediate changes.