Premium Aquatics Aquarium Supplies

Newly Cycled Tank, are my Nitrites normal?

isakrad

Hi Nano-Reefers!

I just setup my new Fluval Evo 13.5. I started the cycle with Fritzzyme Turbostart 900 and thereafter added two small Ocellaris Clownfish. I have also feed them Hikari Brine Shrimp and they devoured it. Now I have a small question. My current parameters are the following:

PH: 8.0

Ammonia: 0.0 ppm

Nitrite: 0.25 ppm

Nitrate: 0.0 ppm

Temp: 78 F.

I wonder if the elevated Nitrite levels are okay for now? I'm fairly new to this hobby so I probably worry to much, hehe

Thanks in advance!

Did you ever see ammonia spike?

Your tank doesn't appear to be cycled as nitrite is still present and there is no nitrate.

The fish should not have been added until ammonia and nitrite were 0, a waterchange completed to reduce nutrients, and then 1 fish at a time.

• Like 1
Scotty Amen
6 hours ago, isakrad said:

I started the cycle with Fritzzyme Turbostart 900

...thereafter added two small Ocellaris Clownfish.

How much time passed between these two statements?

1 hour ago, Clown79 said:

Did you ever see ammonia spike?

Your tank doesn't appear to be cycled as nitrite is still present and there is no nitrate.

The fish should not have been added until ammonia and nitrite were 0, a waterchange completed to reduce nutrients, and then 1 fish at a time.

I saw a slight increase in ammonia. As for the fish the my lfs told me that adding the bacteria, and then not adding a fish would be counterproductive as the fish will release some ammonia to cycle the tank. I would like to add that I'm not feeding the fish every day. I'm feeding them maybe every other day, to reduce the waste as much as possible.

52 minutes ago, Scotty Amen said:

How much time passed between these two statements?