ReefCleaners.org

Too much bioload?

Grantp611

Hey everyone, So I’m wondering if I got a little too crazy and put too much coral in my tank. I’m not a beginner so to speak as I grew up around reefing/breeding growing up, but this is the first tank I am caring for on my own in my apartment.

The setup:

-10 gal jbj rimless aquarium (Set up peninsula style) 

-ac30 filter running the filter sponge, chemipure blue and floss

-hipagaro 30w LED clamp on light 

-live sand and caribsea life rock 

-50w heater

-koralia 240 powerhead

livestock:

-2 gladiator clownfish

-1 yellow clown goby

-variety of zoos

-variety of acans

-cinnamon polyps

-war coral

-Branching duncan

-2 rock flower nems

-gsp (on sand)

-frogspawn

-neon toadstool

-red and teal blasto Merletti 

-red chalice

-ora bird of paradise 

-mushrooms/ricordeas

-candy cane 

-bizarro cyphastrea

-Xenia (on separate rock)

-skunk cleaner shrimp

-firework clove polyps

I have only had the tank for 3 months now but am under the assumption that the life rock and live sand gives an almost instant “cycle” from the bacteria in the sand and rock spacer.pngspacer.pngallowing you to add livestock almost immediately. I do a 2 gal water change every week which I assume to be 25% or so with the rock and sand taking away room for water. My question is if I keep up the weekly water changes will I be ok with all the bioload from the coral and fish? I don’t have any algae issues other than a little on the sand and glass from time to time and my coral seems to be growing at a fast rate other than the chalice. I just want to make sure it’s possible to continue what I’m doing and have a stable tank in the long run. Thanks in advance 

93F147AE-9263-4AD8-825C-4E99BDC7F627.jpeg

F1039C4E-554E-44E9-A783-8653C560210A.jpeg

D4D929C0-0F90-4FA1-9D3A-1C617013758D.jpeg

8B58571F-533A-4C70-AE8D-2AAB36BD8BC3.jpeg