SaltCritters.com

An Unidentified WORM!

eluvscats

Hello Everyone!

This is my first time posting on this forum website, but I have been setting up a 10 gallon (hopefully someday) reef tank. Right now I have about 10 lbs of live rock, and 20 lbs of live sand. I have a penguin filter that I am using for circulation. I removed the bio-wheel and the charcoal filter after reading on this board that it can cause the nitrogen cycle in the tank to get out of whack. I have about 50 watts worth of light bulbs in the hood that came with the tank. I plan to update those eventually. I have been checking the temperature and salinity everyday, and they seem to be within normal range. I have had everything set up now for about a week, and everything seems so be going fine. But, this morning I found a little worm, maybe a bristle worm, on top of the sand. I was really hoping someone could tell me if this is a good worm or a bad worm to have in the tank. Also I would really be interested in knowing if the setup I have is adequate and if I am doing anything particularly wrong. My goal for this tank is to have a clownfish and maybe another small fish that will get along. Eventually I would like to get some corals and an anaemone, but that can wait until I get this thing going.

Thank you ahead of time for answering this post.

Erin

Welcome to Nanoreef :) Your in for a big treat! I to am new to Nanoreefing but it's quite fun once you get started ;)

:D I also have a 10G which took 9Wks to cycle! >:( but its all good now and I have just bought my own Ocellaris Clownfish 3 days ago. If you can take a picture or tell us more about that worm I could have a go at identifying it for you :) Good luck with your tank!

The_Barbe-Hatten_Project

it's not really nessecary to check you salinity everyday, or specific gravity as you'll see it most of the time... simply check it once or twice a week and keep your water topped off...