inTank Media Baskets

how do i get started

swiftisthefuture

swiftisthefuture

well im new to the nano reef worls and i was wonder what the most important first steps top setting up a 12g nano....

i am going to order the tank out of dr foster and smith's magizine and was wondering what other equipoment i would need for the set up

i also understand what is nessecary for the cycle process to finish but i dont know what is necessary to messure the nitrate and nitrite etc... ie. testing kits etc.... where would i get this equipment and how necessary is it to be sure about the specifics of the cycle process (can i eyeball the end of the cycle process or check visually if it is ok to end the cycle process and add fish inverts corals etc) talk to me people i rarely get enough responses directly but i do know that this is very cool site

swift

I'd also like to hear responses to this post. I have had a 55 gallon marine tank for awhile and am interested in getting a nano reef. Is the JBJ nano cube the way to go? Is it worth waiting for deluxe version with 48 watts?

Sloppy

i think balla is right. any of those cubes you are going to retro the lights anyway so you just as well start from scratch. the 10g is an excellent starter cause they are so darn cheap and easy to work on.

what you need to start,

tank

HIGH grade live rock

powerhead

heater

sand (you can go bare bottom if you want)

hang on back filter (small one)

ammonia/nitrite/nitrate test kit

salinity tester

thermometer

power strip for all the plugs

GFCI plug so you dont burn down your house.

last but not least...lights