Innovative Marine Aquariums

Fish or corals first?

Roachant

From a fish disease standpoint, adding corals and then waiting at least 45 days before adding fish lessens the chance of an encysted tomont still being present on the coral. Also, corals produce less waste than fish so you can safely add more of them to a newly cycled aquarium.

• Like 1
NuisanceAlgaeCultivator

I started this hobby with one hardy fish first (Ocellaris Clown) being new to the hobby and it worked out well. A year into the hobby and admittedly I’m no expert, but think I’d do the same. My tank cycled and the first fish handled it better than I’d imagine my current corals would’ve if they’d gone through the same cycle.

Get the fish, feed the fish, check your parameters after you’ve got a bio load, address if needed, then add the more delicate corals into the stabled environment for better chances at success.

In short it seems most fish have a bigger impact on water than most corals so deal with their impact first.

• Like 1

Imo fish first, then cuc and 

corals. The fish create nutrients which fuels algae, so the clean up crew has something to eat, and the corals use nutrients in the water. 

Technically you could add them all at once if you wanted to, but this way lessens the possibility if issues imo. 

• Like 1

Thanks for the replies! 

I’m torn, my lfs has the tailspot blenny I want but I was leaning toward a mushroom coral or two to start. I may end up getting both fish and coral but it seems like a lot all at once. 

As long as your tank is cycled you should be able to get both at once. Tail spots have a small bio load and mushrooms are fairly hardy. Just don't add too much at once but adding one small fish and a mushroom is more than manageable in my opinion. 

• Like 1

TSB’ s are omnivores but tend to graze on algae’s fairly heavily. Without algae present you almost have to feed daily. So until u have algae present id wait on that. Great little fish though. Lotsa personality.