Premium Aquatics Aquarium Supplies

my first nano

No.9

hi all,

i have been coming to this site for couple months now. i am blown away by all the nice setups i have seen here, the amount of information circulating and the knowledge people have. i have about 4-5yrs of reef keeping experience, but i still feel like a beginner because i am still learning and discovering new things everyday.

i started a nano few months ago and here are a few photos of my tank. any comments or advices you can offer would be appreciated.

specs

tank: 9"(w)x8"(d)x11.5"(h)...3.5gal acrylic with matching black acrylic top

lighting: 2-9w (coralife aqualight)...just added another aqualight couple days ago. this is the only size of lighting i can find that will fit over my tank. the lighting is always a big challenge. i took the two coralife aqualights apart and fitted them into the acrylic top. so there are now total 4-9w (2-10,000k and 2-actinic 03)

filtration: none

circulation: 1 - rio50 powerhead

heater: 1 - 25w

livestocks

liverock & livesand: approx. 4lbs each

2 - xenia frags

1 - finger leather

1 - colt

1 - green star polyps

1 - tiny frogspawn (free from lfs)

1 - unknown gorgonian (free from lfs)

1 - tiny orange zoas colony

2 - blue leg hermits

i do about 5% water change twice a week and are not dosing anything at the moment.

sorry, i am not sure what my water parameters are, except for the specific gravitly, 1.024, which is the only thing i test. i know many of you will think i am crazy and that my tank will self-distruct because i don't test my water. i maintain my tank mainly based on experience and observation. in my opinion, the corals are the best indications of the water condition. i guess only time will tell. if my tank crash and all my corals die, then i will have nobody to blame but myself and my stupidity...haha.