Top Shelf Aquatics

First Fish Drop Advice?

RedPhotog

Hello NRC, newbie here at the forums, slightly beginner to moderate aquarist. I was just wondering what the community thought about dropping in multiple fish at once, and I was wondering, does a shrimp count as a fish? Do they give off the same waste as fish do? 

Anyway, I have a 10g tank that’s done cycling, little over a month old. I have about 9 lbs of LFS bought cured LR on top of 20 lbs of live sand. The tank is a 10g, but it has a 20 water filter on it with a Koralia 240. I get very nice water movement and filtration, ammonia and nitrites are 0, nitrates in between 10-15 (doing a WC tomorrow). 

My question is, my daughter really wants a clownfish, I thought a ground creature like a watchman goby with a pistol shrimp would be cool to balance the tank. Is the 2 fish and 1 shrimp too much for a 10g with that setup? Does a shrimp count in an inch per gallon rule? And can or should I drop all three at once if we’re going to, to avoid issues between the 3. I want everyone to be chill, shrimp and goby to meet without clownfish aggression, or is a false percula juvenile not too much to worry about in the beginning. 

Anyway, looking forward to interacting with the community. First time I’ve been a part of something like this. Really enjoying learning more about this wonderful hobby. Thanks in advance everyone! 

inch per gallon rule is just some bullshit someone made up.

Those two fish in a 10g will be okay but I would not add them both at the same time. The tank will need to adjust to new inhabitants. 

I would do the goby + shrimp 1st.. wait a few weeks then add the clown if all is going well. Shrimp is tiny and won't have the bioload a fish will.

15 Nitrates a bit high if you plan on corals. 5 would be a nice number to aim for. May be a bit high for the shrimp as well, they are more sensitive than fish.