ReefCleaners.org

Adding new clownfish

Mastery90

I'm pretty new to the hobby bought an existing tank. I managed to move the 24gal nano cube with all the existing water. I finally after weeks decided to go buy my first fish. Tank came with 1 clone who was alone for months. I ended up picking a lightning maroon clown for 40 dollars. I was told that they should get along fine. Sometimes their ok and others the original is just picking on the new guy. I've seen them both wiggling at each other at times. But how much aggession is too much? On a side not I did rearrange the tank before introductions. Just wanna be sure I'm not letting her permanently harm the new guy. Dont want him over stresses with the move and with her being agressive. And the new one is about 1/3 to 1/2 smaller and always just submittes. Any in For on this is greatly appreciated. Thank you.

20180313_205233.jpg

20180313_205231.jpg

Uh... pairing these two clowns will be difficult, not impossible but difficult. As the maroon matures and grows, tables will most likely turn and a fair chance one will be killed. They may never pair as they fairly different as far as clowns go.

Keep in mind Maroons grow large and can be very aggressive, especially if they decide to breed. Since they grow so large they also have a large bioload. It may be difficult later on down the road to keep other fish with maroons. They are much easier as babies/juveniles but all fish grow up eventually.

I would just bring the original clownfish back to the store since you probably want to keep the maroon clownfish although it would not be my ideal fish in a 24g

• Like 2