Coral Vue Hydros

can you grow coral on bones

jokersbean

i'm new (shocking right,) but i was wanting to know if it would be possible to grow coral on a European deer head mount? (only bone and antlers)  I have been trying to find answers on this but no clear answers, any help on this subject would be great, i was wanting to have a couple scorpion fish, deer head for them to perch on, and a couple different colored corals to make the skull pop as the center piece.

thanks for your time 

geoff

• Like 1

I don't see an issue with it. You will want to throw in some more porous rocks for improved biological filtration though.

One thing you will need to do is make sure the skull is really clean. Then I would soak it in some RO/DI or distilled water for a day or two. After that, test the water to see if it is leaching any phosphates/nitrates or anything like that.

This would be a sweet tank to see set up. 

Im no expert in chemistry but I know a thing or two...  Bones are made of calcium carbonate and calcium phosphate.  Those two compounds aren't very water soluble, meaning they more than likely won't have any effect on the water like dissolving or leaching anything, but Im not 100% sure.  The reason I say I am not sure is because I've only ran lab tests in my medical chemistry classes on bones (calcium carbonate/phosphate) in DI Water, therefore Im not really sure as to what effect saltwater would have on it.  Another thing to consider is "will this thing float or sink?" because I think it'll more than likely float.

• Like 1

I agree

It could be sick, do it. I personally would add sub curing step

Have a skull prepared, as much to zero organic matter and that includes places like the micro ducts

Then soak it in diluted bleach

Then sun baked before things get too cool outside

Then hydrate it again in clean water for a couple days, begin taking it out and smelling really well all over... Any organic leftovers?