Coral Vue Hydros

Intersting article on electricity in a reef

fade2black

There's a few articles about that on here already. I looks pretty cool, and hopefully it'll help regenerate the reefs. Unfortunately I don't think it can be done in a closed system.

humans just cant leave anything alone. not even their destruction. this is just people doing what does not 'need' to be done so they can go 'look what i did! i 'grew' a reef, and i did it FAST!'.

its just like dumping trash (concrete refuse and rusty ships) in the ocean to 'create' a reef. when i do it it is called 'polluting', when they do it its called 'creating an eco-system'.

nalbar

that was some cool stuff...thanks for the heads up this is my first time hearing about this.

Im not sure it would work either. i had an aquaglobe crack on me and was letting out a bit of 12v current i noticed it the next day, and it was covered in salt..the salt had fused on it...but who knows maybe it can be done just at an appropriate level....They dont really explain the reason to the rhyme though...why does this work?..does it give corals another form of energy...does it create electromagnetic currents thus attracting more food particles?

Im not sure it would work either. i had an aquaglobe crack on me and was letting out a bit of 12v current i noticed it the next day, and it was covered in salt..the salt had fused on it...but who knows maybe it can be done just at an appropriate level....
I'm pretty sure that electricity through saltwater creates sodium hydroxide, hydrogen gas and chlorine gas, which can't be great for your tank.

They dont really explain the reason to the rhyme though...why does this work?..does it give corals another form of energy...does it create electromagnetic currents thus attracting more food particles?