Pod Your Reef

Hammer coral looking terrible/dying

DAY1995

Hey guys.

My hammer has been looking pretty rough for the past week. I've tried moving it to different spots in the tank with different lighting/flow and so far no improvement. Can this coral even be saved? Is there anything else I could do to help it? I'm not too certain what to do with a dying coral. I'm fairly new to keeping corals so any help would be appreciated..

Sorry for the blurry pic!

20170809_205438.jpg

burtbollinger

What is your alkalinity?  This is key.

it could look worse...relax.

placement on the bottom is good for now, ensure low/moderate flow...stop moving it around, btw.

• Like 2

It also could be your nitrates and phosphates are too low, I had issues with mine because my water was too clean, once my phosphates and nitrates where slightly elevated it bounced back and looks better than ever 

• Like 1
6 minutes ago, mtmurphy85 said:

It also could be your nitrates and phosphates are too low, I had issues with mine because my water was too clean, once my phosphates and nitrates where slightly elevated it bounced back and looks better than ever 

Really? That's interesting! Last time I checked my nitrates they were less than 5ppm. I do weekly 2-4 gal water changes on my 29 biocube. I also have a low bioload  (2 clowns and a cardinal)

• Like 1

Could be alk swings, that irritates the crap out of Lps  and sps. 

What's your alk at after a waterchange?

7 is right on the border.

Could be low nutrients. They need some nutrients. Around 5 is good.

Try feeding it food like mysis or pellets. Turn water movement off when feeding.

How long have you had it?

I would  not move it around any more. 

7 minutes ago, Clown79 said:

Could be alk swings, that irritates the crap out of Lps  and sps. 

What's your alk at after a waterchange?

7 is right on the border.

Could be low nutrients. They need some nutrients. Around 5 is good.