Cultivated Reef

Corals for my stock nano cube?????

seashellshelly

seashellshelly

Okay, I have a 12 gal nano cube with stock lighting (50/50 24 watts) and I am a total newbie with corals. I am wanting to purchase some corals for my tank but have no idea where to start. Please give me some very specific suggestions for corals that would work in my tank and that would be fairly easy to care for. Any tips or suggestions are appreciated!

Shelly

shelly,

i had a nano cube also with stock lighting, and for 6 months i had 3 varieties of mushrooms and 3 types of zooanthids. all did extremely well and are very easy to take care of. they can handle the flucutations in water quality. how recent have you bought your nano cube? can you still return it? if you still can, you so should consider waiting a few weeks bec the new nano cube wtih more lighting and cooling fans will be available, which will give you more flexibility. best of luck.

ps i also have 6 snails, 1 hermit crab, 1 clownfish, pseudocromis, and coral banded shrimp, again with 3types of mushrooms and 3 vaireties of polyps. key is water changes and small feedings. i only feed my fish every other day and FLAKE food only.

I have a stock nano cube as well and have had great success. Easy corals to keep in there include:mushrooms, ricordea, yellow colony polyps, GSP, zoo's. All of these are easy to care for and are doing quite well and growing like wildfire in my nano. I only keep one fish and 1 shrimp. HTH

seashellshelly

Thanks guys!

One more question.........Do corals count as part of your bioload?? I was planning to add 2 or 3 small fish eventually.

Thanks

Shelly

hey Shelly i have a 12 gallon nano with stock lighting for 1 exception that i retro fitted it with a moonlight in it under the splash guard which was very nice i can add pics if u want. For the most part this is what i have in my tank

1 cleaner shrimp

2 true percs

1 orchid dottyback

10 turbo snails

3 red scarlet hermits

1 Fox coral