Top Shelf Aquatics

am I ready for livestock?

tlp4

hello I'm relatively new to this! I have biocube have had it for a year! I was given everything from a friend to start it up! i just set up a new tank 125 gal. it's been set up for almost 3 weeks. I started with live sand and dry rock. and placed 10lbs of live rubble in sump tank.  my readings are 

ph- 8.0

ammonia- 0

nitrite- 0

nitrate- 0

I also was directed by my local store to add damsels they have been in the tank for almost 2 weeks. can i move my guys from bio to big tank?

Do not add ammonia with fish in the tank!

I'm going to say yes (it's ready for the transfer).  Here's why:

• The rock has been in water for 3 weeks.  Any organic material on it should already be broken down.
  • While I wouldn't cycle with fish, what's done is done.  The damsels (a small ammonia source) have been in there for 2 weeks and there is no trace of ammonia.  All that means is that it can support the small bio-load that is currently in there.
  • You mentioned live rubble in the sump.  If this isn't just dry rock, and has nitrifying bacteria already on it, then this is a small working biofilter.

I'd feel a little better if you had detectable nitrate.  This would positively indicate that it's processing  ammonia.  But at least it's not accumulating ammonia (which I believe it would be without any biofilter).  However, I'd still probably dose some bottled bacteria, like Dr.Tim's One & Only.

So if you transfer all of the contents of your Biocube (live rock included), you'll be transferring the biofilter as well.  This will be enough to support the existing bio-load and a little more (if needed).  However, this does not mean that it will support additional livestock yet.