Cultivated Reef

How to get friends into the hobby

Han Solo

I've been keeping saltwater tanks for a few years now. Pretty much everyone that comes by enjoys my tanks but I have yet to get any of my friends to start a tank. Expense and time are factors, but then again once you are addicted they aren't as much :) 

Any have any stories or advice on getting friends into the hobby?

• Like 1
burtbollinger

on the negative side of the coin...trying to prod people into this hobby is difficult and probably a waste of time.  it is nerdy, obsessive, isolating, expensive and its time intensive...I've converted one or two over the years, only to watch them give up completely within a few years.  

Also, if youre very honest about this hobby, youre pitching a near daily struggle with a lot of lows, a lot of work, and only momentary flashes of happiness...reefing is the chase, the struggle, and momentary flashes of satisfaction....its not for everyone.

You're better off making some new, reef-specific friends who understand the hobby fully at frag swaps, or here on nano-reef.

Also, please note that as you age...friends are overrated....many will become eventual enemies...most will become near strangers.

Having friends into the same niche hobby...very, very overrated.  Friends can be bad listeners.  They don't always follow your advice...Also, you may not want or need a deeper connection with current friends....no telling what it leads to.