ReefCleaners.org

What to supplement in new reef

Edwardfish

Edwardfish

Hello I'm fairly new to saltwater tanks I was wondering what to supplement in a reef tank. I was wanting to keep soft corals and LPS, what do y'all think I should supplement if any. I was also wanting to keep the costs down. Thank you.

17 minutes ago, Edwa said:

Hello I'm fairly new to saltwater tanks I was wondering what to supplement in a reef tank. I was wanting to keep soft corals and LPS, what do y'all think I should supplement if any. I was also wanting to keep the costs down. Thank you.

You should never supplement unless you know what you have and know what you need. 

• Like 6
Edwardfish

I was wanting to get a hammer coral, brain, zoanthis, a leather, candy canes, and leather. Also do you not recommend any of these?

• Like 1
docshipwreck

Each coral has different elemental needs as well as lighting. I would research each that you would like to keep and understand their requirements individually, and then if compatible together, then you can look at your tank's potential requirements as a whole.

Different corals will use different trace elements at different rates, based on that number ( will fluctuate as your collection grows) will then possibly dictate potential dosing needs. If you have a smaller tank, more frequent water changes with quality salt typically take care of replenishing these elements.

• Like 1

Nothing. If you don't test for it, don't add it.

Your salt provides the essentials your tank needs. 

You only dose alk, ca, and mag when its being consumed by corals. So you need corals in the tank to determine what they are consuming daily.

When you get to the point of having enough corals that consume those elements, then testing is required before dosing.

• Like 1
1 hour ago, Edwa said:

Ok what kind of supplements do you think I'll need once I get some corals

Off the top of my head...

youll need nice, wet, clean water, and salt mix. ;)