Premium Aquatics Aquarium Supplies

Curing Dry Rock?

Wesley630

Hi all,

Im new to this reefing stuff and trying to make it the most cost effective i can (i know it can be very expensive to get going.) So i have been looking at the Bulk Reef Supply's Reef Saver Rock which is mined rock and not pulled from the ocean. From everything I have read you have to cure your rock to kill off any pests on the rock. I'm wondering if i can put the rock into my tank and just dose it with the starter bacteria or if I need to cure it in like a 35 gallon trash can before hand, since it never came in contact with ocean water and presumably no pests. I have live sand (bagged) that i plan on using as substrate. Since i have this thread going I'm curious if its a good idea or if its possible to put some kind of media in my bio wheel filter. I have my tank, sand and two filters but i'm working on getting rock and trying to figure out if it would be a better idea to just get live rock and spend the extra bucks.

Thanks all for the help.

Dry rocks are cheaper and doesn't come with any potentially undesirable hitchhikers. Live rocks are easily 5 times the cost and may come with desirable/undesirable hitchhikers.

If the tank that your filter is running on does not have any nuisance algae or diseases you may put the filter media in the trash can with your rocks. Get a bottle of pure ammonia at your cleaning supplies store (make sure there aren't any surfactant). Dose ammonia to about 1ppm (works out to be 0.5mL per 1.5 gallon for me). Keep the water circulated and heated. Leave the cover off and top off with RO/DI water. Once ammonia turns into nitrAte within 24 hours you're good to go. I tried covering my bucket with a plastic bag to reduce evaporation but it seems like it also prevented nitrifying bacteria from entering the bucket too, making my cycle almost 3 months long.

flatlandreefer