Cultivated Reef

? about coral in general

joey13254

When you buy a coral on a plug,do you leave it on the plug for awhile in your tank or can you go ahead and take it off the plug and place it on your rock. How do you go about doing that. Ive tried looking up videos but haven't found any showing the process. What products do you use use to glue them to your main rocks for different corals. Do you have to take your main rocks out to do it?

Joey, I am no expert (hopefully one will weigh in) but I dip the corals, examine them for pests or algae, then if I can, take them off the plug. I usually glue them first to live rock runble, place them in tank or QT without gluing down until I know they like the placement (and I do too). Then I glue or putty them in place. Use pure superglue gel - the cyanoacrylate (sp?) stuff. If you are going to use putty, you put super glue gel on plug, then putty, then more super glue.

When you buy a coral on a plug,do you leave it on the plug for awhile in your tank or can you go ahead and take it off the plug and place it on your rock. How do you go about doing that. Ive tried looking up videos but haven't found any showing the process. What products do you use use to glue them to your main rocks for different corals. Do you have to take your main rocks out to do it?

Ok so there is no "right" way to go about doing this. I will walk you through my process to hopefully give a better idea.

So first things first. I get my coral home and temp acclimate them just like you would a fish.

oKlOl71.jpg

This isn't a huge deal and I mainly do it while I get other stuff ready.