Top Shelf Aquatics

First Post - Introduction & Plans from a Newbie

MPSchenck

Hello Everybody!

First Post! Woohoo! Now that's out of the way.

I only recently joined this form, but I've been visiting and reading on and off for a couple of years.

What prompted me to join finally was my wife was sitting in my man cave the other day and said "it would be nice and relaxing to have a huge saltwater aquarium along that wall". I was like ok gimme the credit card and it'll be done, but she guffawed at the potential expense. I, however, was not going to let the opportunity to get into SW go to waste.

{You can skip this next bit if you want}

Here's the deal, I've had FW aquariums basically all my life (I'll be 38 this year). My parents had a 55g in the living room with angel fish that were huge with saucer-sized bodies, when I was a little kid. Some time in late middle school I took over that tank and throughout high school added more and more FW tanks. When college rolled around my room was full of tanks - lots of 10g, a few 29g, and the trusty old 55g. I broke them all down and sold or gave away massive amounts of livestock and plants. When I did this the 55g was a heavily planted, rare [read: spendy] pleco tank with the only other fish being a large school of Pristella Tetra. This was about the time when so many new plecos were coming out South America that the scientist couldn't keep up with the naming so they just got numbers like "L066". Anyway, no real tanks in college, but I kept a 2.5 gallon betta tank for the fun of it.