SaltCritters.com

Could use some lighting suggestions for 40 Gallon Tank

drseuss620

Hi all,

Let me start off by saying I am completely new to Marine tanks. I have had FW tanks for several years and would like to set up a reef tank. I have been looking at the lighting options for several days but have yet been unable to make up my mind as to what I need. I almost settled on MH but then I ran across another post where somebody mentioned their MH washed out their Actinics. Since I like the effects that the Actinics give I would like to use those as well.

But how much is too much? I don't know what types of corals I would like to keep but I want something I won't have to upgrade later. Can I/Should I get a 400w ballast and run 2x 200w bulbs on it? Is that too much light? Will I be able to use Actinic with it and get the visual effects I want?

If you were setting up a 40 gallon tank what would you use? Somehow I get the feeling that I just couldn't put enough Compacts on there to get enough light. Even if I could, I wouldn't get that rippling water effect you get from using MH's.

Any and all suggestions are greatly appreciated.

Thanks in Advance!

Dennis

For a 40, I'd go with something in the neighbourhood of 2 X 250w MH's. That way you should have enough intensity and spread to cover the tank and let you keep anything your heart desires.

Cheers,

Fred

Wow! thats 12.5 Watts per gallon! And I thought 4-5 watts per gallon was alot!

I see people talking about 10,000k and 20,000k bulbs... Which would be best to use? Will I still be able to use Actinic with that much like or will it even be noticed?

Thanks for your input btw!

Dennis

depends on what dimensions the tank is but imo one 250W is plenty (i think two would be over kill) maybe through in some actinic tubes or a t5 or p/c

soley for the kelvin range it gives you

im actually in the process of setting up a 40g for my brother