SaltCritters.com

What the heck is the deal with Royal Grammas

Whitten

I swear this fish is like a drama queen. It has been fine for the past week or so in his QT tank, but this morning before my final at 8:00 I noticed him perched on top of the heater holder not moving at all. I was so pissed because I thought he was dead, but when I nudged him it was almost as if it woke up and swam to the bottom and did the same thing. He has been acting really funny since late last night when I noticed him just chilled in the little plastic tree. I know that they are a chill kinda fish but, up until now he has been moving about the tank when ever he can't see me, and eating when ever I feed. Now he won't eat, and is just laying on the sand next to the little plastic plant and rock in there.

I am a noob to Gramma's, but not to bass family at all. I have never seen a fish that did this but have heard of some that sleep by just laying down on their side or up against a rock. Realizing that he is a cave dwelling fish made me think that this is normal but I wanted to run it by ya'll.

Yes, they are drama queens, LOL. Mine will sit in his little cave and wait for food and such, if another fish gets near the cave he will open his mouth as wide as he can and puff up at the same time ??? (I think it's hilarious to watch). When he was at the lfs he was near the filter intake and if you tried to scare him he wouldn't come off of it. It was like it was attached to the filter intake :o. Oh well it's still a great fish to watch. I would guess that they have different personality on different days just like us humans :P.

I hope it is personality and not a dead i nality....did that work, I didn't think so either. Maybe you are right though, and there is no since in worrying now because he is in the QT tank for just this reason, to make sure he doens't have any illnesses that will kill other critters. Hopefully I will get to see the bass yawn from my gramma like I see out of my largemouth.