SaltCritters.com

Snail i found at beach?!?!

Deleted User 8530

Deleted User 8530

What Is this? I know its a Snail but Would it be ok in my tank? It usualy burrows slightly under the sand and nove around Quite a bit. 00000022.jpg

just did a google image search no it is not a conus snail.

It is a: "from what I can find, this is an atlantic auger, they are preditors of worms etc. that live in the sand, I'd quarintine it before i put it in my tank, it might help sand sift,its probably better off being left were you found it though..."

I agree. I'm no expert or anything but from what I understand, anything found on or near the beach, is laden with bacteria. I know some guys that get their own stuff from the ocean for their tanks and they always go WAY out to get it, and told me I should never pick anything up off the beach and put it in my tank.

I know, I know. It's the whole, "I know some guys" theory, but I believe them. It sounds reasonable and it's better to be safe than sorry in my opinion.

Again, just my opinion. I personally wouldn't do it, but I'm sure others have and will continue to do so.

Wolf

myfisharemean

I'm visiting CA, and at low tide, when i get to surf camp in the mornings usually, over at the North Jetty, There's anemones, crabs, mussels, baby anemones, etc. Could i maybe snag some a little bit before i leave, and take em home with me, its a new tank, been cycling, so I don't have to worry about killing anything. I know that it's cold water, and I'm setting up a tropical tank, but could a crab transfer to my tank? I know it's a way-out-there idea, but anyone have any input? :P thanks -Matt

Deleted User 8530

Well I Do use ocean water (straight from the Daytona Beach) for My water changes and to fill my tank and it has worked fine and it didnt kill anything! I also have 1 fish in My tank. So far no problems so If I know If it will eat anything good I wont use it, and visa Versa