Top Shelf Aquatics

How Cheap can I build a MH setup?

flyboy01

I am now wanting to do a MH setup, I see all those cool setups on smaller tanks and now I want one too. I am a noob, I dont know what I need. I am thinking about either a 70 watt or a 150 watt, I plan to make a hood and keep the 130 watts of PC in the hood. The tank is 18" deep, but most corals are not more than 14" from the light.

What do I need and where to go get it? Thanks.

What you need.. Ballast, Reflector, Bulb. I am going to assume you are going to go with DE often referred to as HQI, then you will need UV resisitant glass [found at glass shops/I believe Home Depot or Lowes too] but you want to make sure its tempered UV resistant.

If you check here in the classifieds there is someone by the name of Lamp Dr. [Jorge] that sells kits that about plug n play. Youd have to work out the fixture though.

Tam

Originally posted by darkspyda

you will need UV resisitant glass [found at glass shops/I believe Home Depot or Lowes too] but you want to make sure its tempered UV resistant.

Tam

OK now I'm lost, what do I need UV resistant glass for? I have an acrylic aquarium, do I have to change to a glass tank?

BKtomodachi

The UV glass is basically a "filter" that you put under the bulb so that the UV light that comes out of double ended bulbs doesnt fry your corals.

Excuse the dumb questions.

So you are saying that if I get a single ended (screw in) bulb, it does not need a UV glass filter?

matt the fiddler

watch the classifieds for deals. will save you up to 50% :)

yes single ended bulbs need no extra UV protection.

if you are makign our own hood., i woudl go single ended bulbs.... here is why..

1- SE ballasts are 20-30% cheaper than the HQI counterparts

2- more possibilities of bulb choice

3- no UV shielding glass needed..

4- EASIER to retrofit into a DIY hood [i DID]