Premium Aquatics Aquarium Supplies

Flame angel in a 5?

Superdave

I am looking for a single fish for my 5 gal. nano, can I have a flame angel or is this pushing the limits? I'm not familiar with this fish beyond pictures and would like some input from those with experience...

redparrotbubbles85

I have no experience with them but i believe that you CANT do it because it needs more swimming space.

Corey,

That's why I asked. If I had any experience with them, I WOULDN'T HAVE ASKED!! I thought that was what this forum was for, to educate each other.

So am I to assume by your post that it is a bad idea as you didn't actually answer my question?

Surfzup2k4
Originally posted by corey0613

are you serious?? i hope this is a joke!

can you read?

And superdave, no, even a 20 gallon tank would be pushing the limits of those fish. I researched all about them for a while. Most sources recommended at least 30 gallons for them.

Thank you surf for the info and yes I can read. I just find it much more helpful when people reply with information, details, facts, etc., instead of rips.

Surfzup2k4
Originally posted by Superdave

Thank you surf for the info and yes I can read.  I just find it much more helpful when people reply with information, details, facts, etc., instead of rips.

I wasn't asking YOU if you could read ;)

It was directed at the smartass who couldn't grasp the fact that maybe somone was asking a serious question. You admited you knew nothing about them in your initial post. That is why I quoted his reply, then addressed your name and the answer to your question.

Thanks kraphtymac...do you mind if I ask how much you paid for your tank and where you purchased it? A ballpark figure is fine.

From my research that fish requires a much larger tank.

It reaches about 4 inches in length, which seems fairly big for a 5 gallon, and the recommended minimum tank size for them is about 30 gallons.