Cultivated Reef

Canon T3i for beginner

LarryMoeCurly

LarryMoeCurly

I have no experience with photography other than the $20 P&S that I have been using to take pictures of my tank on occasion. I have been reading up on the basics of photography over the past few weeks. I rarely take pictures (because I do not do very many interesting things worthy of pictures nor do I have a functioning camera on my iphone since the lense is scratched). I am considering getting into photography with the hopes of getting some great pictures of my tank of course, but also with the hopes that it will sort of force me to do more things to take more pictures of, if that makes any sense. In other words, the only way I can justify buying a DSLR is if I actually use it on a regular basis.

It seems that the Canon T3i is a very popular model that has excellent reviews, so that is what I am strongly leaning toward. My questions at this point is with regard to the purchase of the body and a beginner lens.

There are a few options that I see:

1. T3i kit from Amazon $498

2. refurbished T3i kit from Canon $408

3. refurbished T3i body from Canon ($340) and a 50mm lens from Amazon ($99) $439

4. watch craigslist for used cameras and other sites for sales

Which one would you recommend and/or are there other options that I have overlooked?

I have read that the kit lens is good enough for everyday use, but the 50mm is better quality and produces better results. My plan would be to familiarize myself with the camera and with photography in general and then maybe step up to a macro and perhaps other lenses when the time comes. It seems that even if I bought the kit, it would be advantageous to buy the 50mm also.