Premium Aquatics Aquarium Supplies

Toad's 5.5 Gallon w/ Fuge, MH, and SCWD. (Picture Intensive)

CodeToad

Well, I outgrew the 2.5 gallon and wanted more space but I still need to be portable since I am a traveling college student. The 2.5 is living happily with Bryan and Lee over at their LogicalReef store :)

This summer I started my 5.5 gallon reef project. I'll get on with specs and pictures:

Here is the stand and canopy I built. I keep the tank in my room so I decided to go with the door design again so I can close the doors and keep the fuge light from keeping me awake. I am using a Mag3 for a return pump hooked up to a SCWD. There is quite enough flow in there ;) It's great. I have the display tank drilled at the bottom with a 1 inch drain and I am using 3/4 inch return plumbing.

emptytank.jpg

Here is a shot of the tank full and the doors closed:

fullsetup.jpg

Here is a shot of my sump/refuge. I made the baffle system myself out of acrylic and silicone. The refuge light runs 24/7 and is a single 13W PC at 6500k. I have the light mounted on some chain so I can easily remove it or relocate it if I need to work on the sump:

fivefullfuge.jpg

For lighting I went with the popular 70W Metal Halide many people here are using. I got the bulb from hellolights.com and a Aromat 5EU ballast and socket from Dr.Lamp. I like the Regent fixtures at home depot so I picked up the EQ300WL. I knew the socket wouldn't quite fit but since I had the socket from Dr.Lamp anyway so I just replaced the ceramic ends with the Dr.Lamp ones and everything fit in nicely. I also am using two 13W PC 03 actinic for my blue supplementation.

mhlight.jpg

Here is a shot of the SCWD and my plumbing, along with the thermally controlled fan:

backscwd.jpg