ReefCleaners.org

Taking Pics Under Kessil LED lighting

ReviloM

I've found that the iPhone cameras must be tuned to taking pictures with LED lights. My iPhone camera regularly takes better tank pics than my expensive DSLR.

I'll probably have to make some kind of marker so I always put the intensity and color at the same location so I only have to mess with white balance once. I do know I have to be more on the white side to get the color to show more accurately. I have the 350 as well, w/ umpteen color and intensity combos there's no way you can keep resetting your white balance.

My images always show up dark even when I change the ISO. It almost as if the LEDs are not emitting enough light. When I had the radions on my old tank, it was never an issue. I am an amateur so it may be something else I need to change on my camera, Sony Nex5n. I am trying to take FTS for my 10G.

I have my ISO on the highest it'll go and pick a more white light to take a pic because it always turns out bluer. It's very bright so it's not that the leds are weak but the blue spectrum is intense and the camera doesn't know what to do with it. I also took a pic of the tank to get the white balance right and used that to set the white balance. I still had to have it on the highest ISO for my Par38 full spectrum as well.

I have my ISO on the highest it'll go and pick a more white light to take a pic because it always turns out bluer. It's very bright so it's not that the leds are weak but the blue spectrum is intense and the camera doesn't know what to do with it. I also took a pic of the tank to get the white balance right and used that to set the white balance. I still had to have it on the highest ISO for my Par38 full spectrum as well.

Ok. Thanks for the tip! I try not to exceed 1600 iso but ill try higher.

That doesn't sound right.

What aperture are you using?