Top Shelf Aquatics

What kind of freshwater topoff system do you use for your nano??

GobyMan

I'm looking to add an automatic topoff system to my 5 1/2 for when I am away for 10 days in October. I was just wondering what everyone else uses.

Thanks!

I finally bought a small pump and a float switch for when I go away but I never set it up. I haven't gone away for more than two days since my trip to St. Barths. Somehow, when I went away then I had very little evaporation. Alas, I did lose my anthelia polyps but nothing else.

I'm going to look into a pump and float switch. I'm also thinking of lowering my photoperiod when I am gone in an attempt to reduce evap.

I was thinking about alk/calcium levels too. I am adding 5 ml per day of b-ionic to MAINTAIN my levels. I was wondering if my corals would be ok without my daily additions during the period I am gone. I guess I can just use Kalk as the makeup water but I have never used it before and am a little apprehensive.

i'd go with the b-ionic premix before kalk due to the extreme pH of the kalk.

10 days is a looong time, you should defnitely go with some kind of auto top-off or tank maintenance service. how much could they charge for a nano?

We charge $85 per service regardless of size. For just watching a tank for 10 days I think we would charge around $50 per week so about $75 for 10 days.

Get a bucket, drill a hole in it at the bottom put an airline and a needle valve on it and set it to a VERY slow drip. place this bucket next to the tank on an elevated surface. Should be fine, and save you some dough during your vacation.

HTH,

Toy

DMJ,

I was under the impression this was for a 10 day vacation. if you aren't home who cares waht the tank looks like while on vacation?

Toy