Premium Aquatics Aquarium Supplies

Journal of a 10g Nano-Reef started 5/27/04

ChloroPhil

ChloroPhil

Hi folks,

I'd like to start out with a thank you to all who have helped me thus far in my quest for the perfect nano-reef. That's probably every single one of you here, whether directly through questions answered, or indirectly through pictures of your aquariums and the threads discussing them.

A little about me before I get to the good stuff. I'm a Post-Bac student working towards a BS: Biology (Botany) in order to get into the MS program at the local university. I've been keeping aquaria seriously since '97 and have been a competitive aquascaper (mostly planted tanks) for the past three years. Aside from everything else I've got going on I do part time work as the pond and aquarium plant guy at an LFS that has a phenomenal SW section. Ever since my first day there I resisted the temptation to set up a small reef and I finally succumbed.

This setup started as an empty tank languishing in my fishroom just begging to be used. As they say "An idle tank is the Devil's playground" and this one is no exception. My intentions with this tank is to make it a rubble boundary zone aquascape with SPS and polyps.

Specs (currently, or will have)

10g AG

~19lbs LS

15lbs LR

2x13w PC (for LR now)

[will have 70w HQI and 2x36w PC 03 actinics]

AC 500 fuge w/surface skimmer

AC Super Skimmer in the 500

supplimental powerhead

Current inhabitants:

1 Astrea Snal

2 Margarita Turbo Snails

3 Cerrith Snails

3 Blue Leg Hermits

Desired inhabitants:

1 Royal Gramma

1 Cleaner Shrimp

1 High-Fin Banded Goby

1 Pistol Shrimp

1 Feather Duster

Various Montipora and Acropora spp stonies

Various Zooanthid spp

GSP

Ok, on to the pictures:

5/27