Cultivated Reef

Christmas camera purchase

uglybuckling

I'm going to be asking Santa for a camera this year, with which to take pictures of the reef tank.

Two things that I have determined are fairly important are:

1) the ability to take RAW pictures (so that I can adjust color balance after the fact; my tanks are all lit with LEDs and white balance is absolutely necessary), and

2) optical zoom, or a macro lens, for taking macro shots of corals.

I have never owned what most folks would consider to be a good camera--certainly nothing professional-grade, and really not even anything in the 'savvy consumer' range. The budget here maxxes out around $300-400, which as I understand it excludes most DSLRs. Honestly, that would likely be more camera than I could handle anyway.

In my admittedly somewhat bumbling searches (I'm pretty new to all this) I have found the Fujifilm FinePix F770EXR, which seems to come with decent reviews of its photo ability (apparently the movie mode sucks; that's totally fine; I already own a video camera), and it is capable of both of the above (RAW mode and 20x optical zoom).

I also stumbled across the Panasonic Lumix and the Canon Powershot SX260; neither of these seem to have RAW mode.

Does anyone have an opinion on the Fujifilm, or a suggestion for a different camera that might work as well or better?

Should I just suck it up and save up the $600 for a Canon Rebel T3i?

Would I be just as happy and much better-fed with a Nikon D3100?

If so, what lenses should I add onto the DSLR? Keeping in mind that each lens will at that point take food off the table. =)

http://www.amazon.com/Canon-T3i-Processor-...e/dp/B004J3V90Y

This camera is just amazing. I bought this camera for my mother and I am going to be buying myself one. It takes amazing pictures. I know its above your cost. If your really going to be using it for other things also I would def consider saving up for it.

http://i833.photobucket.com/albums/zz252/b...644814692_n.jpg