SaltCritters.com

question about acro

nystang

I am new to SPS so don't laugh too loud. I have this acro for over 3 months and recently I noticed something is growing right next to it that looks very similar to the coral itself but is softer and more like a weed. Can anyone identify this. I circled it.

post-72272-1351868795_thumb.jpg

Not part of the coral. Looks like a macro algae, I am not an expert on macro algae so I will leave that to the algae experts. I would remove it all as it will spread and affect the acro growth and health.

It's fern caulerpa. If you don't have any tangs in the tank, which I assume you don't due to it still being there, I would get it out of your display ASAP.

Thanks to all. I removed as much as I could with tweezers however I couldn't remove the roots. I didn't drop any piece to the tank but I will watch it carefully for regrow. if it happens I will need to remove the acro and clean this place much better. It grows between the coral and the rock so it is very difficult to remove 100%. I searched for images of fern caulerpa and it looks exactly like one. I don't know how I get it but I assume it came with the acro but I bought it July 14 and it started to grow maybe a month ago.

Thanks to all. I removed as much as I could with tweezers however I couldn't remove the roots. I didn't drop any piece to the tank but I will watch it carefully for regrow. if it happens I will need to remove the acro and clean this place much better. It grows between the coral and the rock so it is very difficult to remove 100%. I searched for images of fern caulerpa and it looks exactly like one. I don't know how I get it but I assume it came with the acro but I bought it July 14 and it started to grow maybe a month ago.

It is bryopsis. I would also check other areas in your tank. Once it starts to take off, it can be quite hard to remove.