Cultivated Reef

AquaEuroUSA 28Gal Start up

R&J_Mako

Newbie here. Got a AquaEuroUSA 28 Gal starters kit.

Day 1 - 9/17.

filled the tank with tap water, added salt mixture. some amonia conditioner. Cloudy. (tank plugged in and running.

Day 2 - 9/18.

Salinity @ 1.031 - removed 3 pitchers of saltwater, 3 pitchers of tap water back in. Later Salinity @ 1.025

late nite - placed live sand and live rock.

9/22 - Rhonda impatient wants some fish. Local pet store has SOME fish.

we got a sand sifting sea star. blacktail dormselfish and a yellowtail dormselfish

Sea star LOVES the 2 1/2" of Bio Activ live Aragonite reef sand.

10/5 - removed the long sponge filter (far left compartment) and cleaned and rinsed with tap water, drip dry and replaced into filter compartment. (tank was a tad cloudy after stirring it up.)

Another cleaning of glass inside and out.

(had to clean the outside of tank with the nephews and cousins little fingerprints.)

10/6 - Today we went out of town shopping. (lunch at Olive Garden. YEA!)

Again, Rhonda was on a mission to find Nemo. We came home with a clownfish and an Orchid Dottyback.

This is pretty scarey. Some money is in that tank there, swimming around. Some only 4.99 and another was 19.99 but mostly Rhonda wants this tank to work out. She wants me to make it happen. I'm doing OK, I think...

Now, at home and all is peaceful, she calls me and with eyelashes flickering, she shows me her Ipad and tells me she wants ONE MORE THING, a sea horse?????????????????????????? Oh my.

Am I getting in trouble here? Let me see about some pics from my computer to the site.

till then. I think I need more input on #1 - my Nitrates are increasing. I think I need a water change?

R&J_Mako

(John here...)

post-76962-1349584511.jpg

You should never use tap water for your saltwater aquarium.

Saltwater tanks require the use of RODI water. There's too many impurities in tap water which can result in havoc down the road.