Innovative Marine Aquariums

Fuval Edge - 6 Gallon

stillsyncing

stillsyncing

I'm new to aquariums (both fresh and saltwater), and new to nano reef-ing, however I have done quite a bit of research, as I'm not going to be taking this hobby lightly. After much consideration, I went out and purchased a 6 Gallon Fluval Edge, and while I've read many opinions that this tank is not ideal for beginners, I decided to take the plunge. It's stylish, nice and small, and allows for an awesome viewing experience.

img20120908184328.th.jpg

Anyway, as of right now I've got the live sand in (pure white argonite), the saltwater all mixed (don't recall the brand at the moment, but it's specifically for reefs), the pump set up (Koralia Nano 240), and pretty much everything else all purchased, just waiting on my live rock to arrive (a combination of Fiji, Branch, Marshall, and Carribean).

img20120929174842.th.jpg

img20120929184813.th.jpg

While I'm getting the cycling process going, I figure it's time to decide on a cleanup crew (though I know, this won't be added for a while).

Amidst all the research and forum browsing, I figured it would be helpful to ask outright: what would be a good setup for a small tank like this?

Currently I'm thinking I'll have one Emerald Crab, an Electric Blue Hermit Crab, and a Scarlet Skunk Cleaner Shrime (or Peppermint Shrimp, or Blood Red Fire Shrimp). I don't know what kind of snails to put in here, so any advice on that would be wonderful. And I've yet decided on what kind of fish to put in this thing, but I realize it will be only one small fish, or two at the absolute most. Any recommendations on this would be helpful as well. Originally I wanted a Mandarin Goby very badly, but I read that they should be avoided in nano reefs, so that one's out. I very much like the Green Banded Goby - does anyone know how this guy would do in such a small tank?