SaltCritters.com

Im an idiot noob, plz help: DSB

JayOSparX

Ok so about a week ago now, I decided to rip out my 10 gallon sump refugium in order to install a acrylic separator. I don't remember what was my reason to smh, but I took the 20 ibs of live sand I had in the refugium and rinsed it, guess it was dirty looking or something.

After I finish the sump, I put the sand in chato on one side with a rock and protein skimmer heater and return pump on the other and let it rip. I don't think my coral frags liked that, the daisy polyps won't open and the green star polyps look like $%!*. Im guessing I killed off all the good bacteria, introduced phosphates, idk.

What should I do, I tried moving more live rock to the sump to try and seed the bed, should I buy a bottle of bacteria. Im also currently vodka dosing. Please help me...

Did you use saltwater to rinse it? What's the ammonia level?

Im also currently vodka dosing.
Hmm... Do you have a powerful skimmer? When did you start this? Are you closely monitoring your parameters to determine the dosing level?

I would immediately stop the vodka method.

It's a clever way to do things but it should never ever be necessary if you keep up with maitenance and it is dangerous and easy to overdose.

Nope, used tap smh, no ammonia, skimmer is a trash sea clone 100, start like 3 weeks ago and nitrates are going away, went from 20-30 down to 5ppm so I guess after this week I found my maintenance dose.

Did you use saltwater to rinse it? What's the ammonia level?

Hmm... Do you have a powerful skimmer? When did you start this? Are you closely monitoring your parameters to determine the dosing level?

blowing detritus off the rocks and vacuuming my sand bed wasn't working, nitrates was rising if anything.

I would immediately stop the vodka method.

It's a clever way to do things but it should never ever be necessary if you keep up with maitenance and it is dangerous and easy to overdose.