Cultivated Reef

Equipment overload, too much information

Fence13

Good Evening Everyone,

So I'm new to Nano-reef.com but figured I would sign up to help get some things figured out. I'm new to saltwater, have had a freshwater tank for a year now; and there doesn't seem to be anyone reliable in my area to help provide direction that isn't just trying to make a sale.

The problem comes from my research on the internet. I'm looking to set up a tank of 20g to 25g as a FOWLR with the potential of upgrading to an anemone and reef tank in the future (once everything has stabilized and I've become more experienced with salt water).

I've read stuff from:

1. you don't need any equipment aside from a heater and a power head (the basics)

2. the basics and only a skimmer

3. the basics and a whole sump and refugium are needed for any salt water.

So I ask you, the experts, what is actually needed for a FOWLR tank?

I apologize for the n00b question, but the information has overloaded my brain. I now know what too much information means.

thanks in advance for your help and guidance,

Fence

krackerjacksna

I would start with a refractometer , salt, heater , power head and protein skimmer, lights will involve as how soon you want a nem or corals

Well, for a FOWLR, just a small filter, some live rock, some sand for ascetics, a heater, and maybe a pump aimed slightly up to avoid getting stagnant water.

And a regular API saltwater master test kit, and a hydrometer. Saltwater fish aren't picky when it comes to salinity.

Well, for a FOWLR, just a small filter, some live rock, some sand for ascetics, a heater, and maybe a pump aimed slightly up to avoid getting stagnant water.

And a regular API saltwater master test kit, and a hydrometer. Saltwater fish aren't picky when it comes to salinity.

so really if i stick with a FOWLR tank it's just the same as freshwater with salt. Things just get different with corals and nems? That makes the initial set up easier.