Innovative Marine Aquariums

Critique my plumbing before I cement it

91mini

Just finished getting everything pieced together. Please let me know what you think. This is my first build. It's a 100G.

I asked before about the siphon for water changes and many said that it is not necessary because I can just use the pump to drain. I think because my pump chamber had to be so small that I will need the back siphon from the return for easy water changes. I plan to push the return lock line deep into the water when I do water changes and place a mark on the side of the tank to measure water level.

1. Siphon for water changes

2. BRS single reactor (carbon) not purchased yet

3. BRS single reactor (GFO) not purchased yet

4. Drain line from overflow (1500 GPH glass-holes kit)

5. Eheim 1260

6. Ball valve to control flow from pump

7. Ball valve for future equipment

8. Union's

9. Plan to the hang the carbon and GFO on this inside wall. Ball valve to run each using my pump and close the fuge for the return lines.

The space to the right of the fuge in this picture will be for a container for my ATO. I have the Tunze 3155.

backfull.jpg

back-drain-and-siphon.jpg

Front-right-side.jpg

front-left-side.jpg

Just finished getting everything pieced together. Please let me know what you think. This is my first build. It's a 100G.

That is quite a set up 91mini

Looking good! I'm no plumbing expert, but just a few things I've noticed.

1. It might make more sense to have the unions on the overflow pipes higher up, in case you ever have to move the tank.

2. It looks like you have a check valve on the right side return line, but not the left. Is there a reason for this?

Looks like this is going to be a great build!

Looking good! I'm no plumbing expert, but just a few things I've noticed.