SaltCritters.com

aquarium photography help?

lagunastudio

lagunastudio

Does anyone have any tips or advice on getting good aquarium photos? I have a Canon 7D with a EFS 18-135mm lens. I'm still learning about this camera and am far from mastering it. When I do a custom white balance using a photo I took of the aquarium with 'daylight' wb, all of my photos have an extreme yellow tint. But when I use daylight white balance everything is blue / purple and the colors do not stand out.

Custom White Balance

7-28-2012_fulltank.jpg

Daylight White Balance

7-28-2012_fulltank2.jpg

Any advice or ideas would be great, I've seen a lot of amazing photos on this forum.

lagunastudio

thanks, it's a yellow finger gorg. I got it about 2 weeks ago seems to be doing alright. I'm kind of paranoid about it because everyone claims they're very difficult to keep.

Use a color temp of 10K that will give you a pretty accurate representation and you can always tweak your colors from there.

Easiest way is to adjust white balance in post processing. Having a Flagship camera, there is no reason you shouldn't have a good PP software such as Adobe Lightroom.

Easiest way is to adjust white balance in post processing. Having a Flagship camera, there is no reason you shouldn't have a good PP software such as Adobe Lightroom.